another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Get A Real Job May 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:52 am
Tags: , , ,

I've been applying for jobs on behalf of Kimba. Where she lives there is no computer access so I check out the jobs online and send off her resume.

Some are pretty involved. There was one book store – their application took me about 45 minutes to complete. I was put in different situations and had to say how I'd handle it. For example – I was captain of the tennis team and we made it to the finals. But I had an injured leg so I couldn't play. And my best friend had bought me a ticket to a rock concert that was on the same day as the tennis final. Would I go to the concert or go to the tennis final to support my team.

Well we all know I'd go to the rock concert but I figured the book store probably wanted me to go to the tennis. But I didn't want to be a total suck up so I did miss swimming practice one morning because I went to a party the night before. I did reschedule the swimming though.

Another one had no option to attach a resume or references. The whole selection criteria came down to 10 words. They wanted you to give 10 words that represented your thoughts and dreams. That stumped me for a while because Lizzie told me I must NEVER use the words groovy or funky in a job application. If I gave them 10 words to describe my thoughts and dreams they'd think I belonged in the whack shack. So I had to turn my brain into that of a young, what was the job description, passionate fashionista.

Another one had so many complicated mathematical problems I made Kimba get on a train and come home to do it herself. One look at them and I was back in the school room gazing with bewilderment at a mystical problem. You know the ones –

Two trains loaded with oranges leave Melbourne at sunrise and head in different directions travelling at the same speed, how many cups of tea does the guard drink before they reach Sydney.

It's always a trick of some kind – the answer would probably be – none, he had a thermos.

And another one told me to check my emails regularly because most correspondence would be by email. How much could we need to correspond. Maybe we're going to become penpals first.

It's a bit different to the job she has now. She walked in off the street and said – do you have any jobs, and they gave her one. But it's only casual and it's not possible to live away from home on casual wages. I know they say unemployment is low but there aren't many jobs out there. So stay in school kiddies and go to university or TAFE and get a skill.

Hey – all my comments have gone from the last post! Vox has gone mad.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

7 Responses to “Get A Real Job”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    Wonder what kinda job "she'll" end up getting. You're right, the comments disappeared into the Vox void. Grrr.

  2. cat Says:

    my profile picture changed by itself the other day as well

  3. Ninja Says:

    Good advice, Cat. Kids should go get as much education or training that they can access. It's a lousy world to be in when you're not trained for anything.

  4. cat Says:

    As she is now finding out. She didn't even get a UAI (I don't want to talk about it) and of course now regrets it but at the time she knew everything.

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    is there a poltergeist living in your blog?

  6. cat Says:

    stealing my identity maybe

  7. Ninja Says:

    It's never too late to turn things around in this country. Kimba just needs that fire in her belly and go get it. With you guys behind her, it can be fixed easily.


Leave a Reply

