another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

fringe benefits May 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 6:17 am
Tags: , , ,

So the home hairdressing appointment went ahead as scheduled yesterday.

Robin turned up with a large bag full of goodies that I'd like to have in my bathroom cupboard and set up. Then she took a bit of the bulk out of my hair before she coloured it, then after we'd squashed in around my laundry tub with me leaning over it and her washing it, she cut it.

The first thing most hairdressers want to do when they see my hair is get amongst it with the razor and the thinning scissors. And they usually leave me feeling like I have a skull cap of hair with some rats tails clining to my neck and shoulders. But Robin kept herself well in control and when I washed it this morning I still had a LOT of hair.

And I did sit at the kitchen table and talk to her while the bleach did its thing. But as happens in a small town we discovered we both had kids in the same class, so we had plenty to bitch about.

And I did the fringe. And I like it. Even though it does feel like I've had an insect creeping around my forehead all day.

So I'm seeing her again in about 4 weeks. She tells me it'll take about 4 goes to get it up to blonde. Without turning it to jelly.

She wanted me to let it dry naturally but that takes about 3 days so after she left I gave it a blast with the dryer. And I have actually put the straightener through it, but it resisted.

 

 

So today I straightened it again. Which I'm sure was good for it.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “fringe benefits”

  1. homebody Says:

    Bee you tee full!

  2. cat Says:

    thanks – we'll see how long I can stand it

  3. Aubrey Says:

    Yes – very fine and dashing!
    Did you like having your done at home? My cutter is leaving for a new place miles away, but she's willing to cut my hair at home. She's good, and I'd like to take her up on this.

  4. cat Says:

    I did like it better at home but then I hate going to the shop. I didn't have to get dressed up or put makeup on. I didn't have to listen to all the annoying rubbish people talk about – or the gossip. I could make a decent cup of coffee without having to worry if the cup had been washed properly after its last use. I'd definitely take her up on the offer.

  5. Looks very rock and roll, Cat. I like it!

  6. none Says:

    Cool looking photos of ya!

  7. very international woman of mystery. Looking good

  8. cat Says:

    Actually I'm feeling a bit chrissie amphlett

  9. cat Says:

    I'm getting paranoid – have to make it a bit tricky for someone to use my picture to steal my identity

  10. Red Pen Says:

    Very nice. Makes me wish for a new style.

  11. Raymond Says:

    Can I just be a guy and tell you upfront that I really don't have a clue about what a fringe is? Because I started to ask you 'Did you do something to your hair?' I am beginning to realize ladies are not quite enthusiastic about such questions. Don't you wish there was a PhotoShop for hair? Click a couple of buttons and presto, neon hair! Of course, you'll still have to shop for a new pair of sunglasses…because when some guy asks you 'did you do something to your hair'?, you can tell 'em you bought new sunglasses. And guys like me always fall for it. So…I'll tell you in advance, I like your new sunglasses, and you want have to tell me that I really don't have a clue. Fringe benefits rock! 🙂

  12. Emjay Says:

    Looks great!! They call a fringe "bangs" here. You might not be so pleased with the fringe the first time you get a migraine – that crawling insect feeling will be nasty!

  13. cat Says:

    thanks – go get one

  14. cat Says:

    I already have bobby pins in it this morning

  15. cat Says:

    A finge is just that annoying hair that sits on your forehead and in your eyes. I always get on cut in then grow it out straighaway. But its good to have a change now and then.
    I used to have a doll and you could pull her hair out long then wind her arm and it would go back up through a hole in her head. That'd be handy.

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    looks spiffy! (but how come my forehead's suddenly itchy?)

  17. Raymond Says:

    Yeah, I can see where wind up hair might be handy. If you ventured out into the next friendly hurricane you could have your daughter wind up your arms so you wouldn't muss up your hair. However, your daughter might find it amusing to go the other direction. In which case you would look like the Lady Godiva in a mass of rather interesting knots.

  18. cat Says:

    lol – I can see it ending up a real birds nest


Leave a Reply

