another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

eight things I like about me April 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:25 am
Tags: , , , ,

I've been tagged again. Thats twice in one week. Must be getting slow.

This one was to tell you all eight random facts about myself. I'm pretty forthcoming with the information so I can't imagine there's eight things about me you all don't already know. Lets see.

1. I have no interest in looking at peoples houses.

You know when you go to someones house and they take you on a tour. What the hell is that about. So you stand there and admire their bathroom or bedroom and everyone ooh's and aah's. Well I don't get that. It's a room. It has walls and a door. Get over it.

2. I refuse to do canteen duty at the school.

Just thinking about all those dirty hands, all that dirty change, all that working out of mathematical equations and god please save me from all that gossip in an enclosed space with other women. It's ok though as we live in a small town, so it's well known that I don't do canteen. Once my husband was at Little Athletics and a woman said to him – 'I hear Cat doesn't do canteen'.

3. I'm very strong.

I don't know why but I always have been. As a schoolgirl I used to arm wrestle the boys on the school bus. I could see the fear in their eyes, they were going to be beaten by a GIRL. Now I arm wrestle my husband. Yes it's a very romantic relationship. I did a self defence course a few years ago and they brought in guys that you had to fight. I heard them saying I was very strong.

4. I can never remember the name of someone I meet.

I don't know what it is. Maybe I don't care what their name is. I think it's because I don't like being close to people. I have a hula hoop rule. I like to pretend I'm wearing a hula hoop  and no one is allowed within the hula hoop. But when you meet people, they want to lean in close and touch you and get within the hula hoop and maybe I just freak out and can't concentrate on all that and their name as well. I play a game now where I associate someones name with someone I already know with the same name. That helps.

5. I am scared of a retarded boy in town.

He's a dead set freak. He'll kill a young girl one day and they'll find him cuddling her, saying he was just trying to keep her warm. He's about 19 or 20 but big, with bottle bottom glasses. And if I'm sitting in the car in the carpark and he walks through, I have a mild panic attack and lock all the car doors. Ever since my girls were young I've told them they are never to talk to him or make eye contact with him. I don't care, something about him is wrong.

6. I watch The Bold and the Beautiful

No more to be said. Shut Up.

7. I stole money.

When I was in high school we had this fundraiser. It was decided (by people who obviously weren't going to actually do it) they we would find suckers to sponsor us to run up and down this huge mountain in town. It probably wouldn't be allowed anymore due to insurance reasons. So I collected my money. Then I kept it. I earnt that bloody money.

8. I am a big fan of The Commando.

Now I know when it comes to The Biggest Loser that Bob and Gillian are the main man (and woman). And I dearly love them both. Bob seems like the sweetest man you could ever meet and despite all Jillians hard arse talk she knows how to reach people emotionally. Their australian counterparts – Shannon and Michelle are ok. But I feel they have some issues, feeling they have to be better than Bob and Jillian. (Anyway Michelle has some wierd obsession with Cossie so that puts me off her – at least she got over JJ though).

But The Commando is my kind of man. He's the one I would want on my team. Kimba said to me the other night that she'd like Alison for a mother. And I said – 'she'd be all soft and sweet and pathetic'. And Kimba said – 'yeah, I want to try one of those mums for a while'.

But I will just point out that when kimba was in year 5 they had to write an essay on the person they would most want to be stranded on an island with and she said it would be me. Because I would never give up.

Just call me commando – ess.

I don't tag people but if you feel the urge to divulge – feel free.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “eight things I like about me”

  1. Candy Sparks Says:

    number 4 all the way!

    candy

  2. june Says:

    Houses are like kids, I guess: Everyone thinks their own are fascinating, but secretly no one else really gives a crap.

  3. Emjay Says:

    LOL! Isn't it funny what you find out about people you think you know?? 🙂 (did you read Flamingo Dancer's blog on evil?).
    Number 2: never did any form of canteen or work bees at school. We actively looked for preschools where you could pay to get out of a work bee!!!
    Number 7: on the odd occasion that I went to Sunday School (probably only if golf was on Sunday) mum would give me money for the plate. I would take change out of the plate and spend it at Holden's corner shop on lollies!!! I did not consider that this was wrong!

  4. cat Says:

    well I can always remember you candy sparks – even if you do spell your last name with out the x's

  5. cat Says:

    not wrong there – one day at the zoo in the ticket line, the guy in front of me thought I'd love to see his three year old do lion impersonations.

  6. cat Says:

    lol – I think taking money from Gods plate is a little wrong emjay!

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    I love lookin' at people's homes. Unless they're bland suburbans in which case I'd rather shoot some bad pool over a few beers at the pub. I'm glad you listen to your instincts about the retarded boy. Do you know how many people would self-consider that racism (puuulllllleazzze!) and ignore their gut?

  8. cat Says:

    There are a lot of those new housing estates around here and it seems you get to pick out of 4 or 5 designs so they're all the same. And inside they're all cream.
    A lot of people in town feel sorry for that kid because his mother killed herself. But he just gives out a bad feel to me.

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    Suburban cookie-cutters. Then yeah, meet me down at the pool hall. A bad kid is a bad kid regardless.

  10. cat Says:

    suburban cookie cutters – I like that

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    I can't take credit for inventing that pithy phrase (typically they're called cookie-cutter homes).


Leave a Reply

