another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

a lost cat, an old lady and the police come knocking at my door April 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:51 am
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes the best thing you can do is keep your mouth shut. Otherwise you can find yourself in the middle of a long rambling explanation that leaves you sounding guilty of something.

Take for example the situation I found myself in when the police came knocking at my door. Two of them, fully decked out. And they say to me:-

We were wondering if you had seen anyone suspicious lurking around the old ladies house across the road.

I stand there with my slightly concerned, yet helpful face on. They go on to explain that the old lady has been away for a few days and when she arrived home she found her garage door slightly open so rang the police to report someone had broken into her garage.

And there was a fraction of a second where I almost considered telling them the truth. I almost said –

Yes, that would be my husband.

Then I would have had to go on to say that, well our cat went missing you see and I noticed the old lady's garage door had been open and I thought the cat may have gone over for a sticky beak (because cats are like that aren't they). So anyway, I said to my husband 'you should go over and have a look in the old lady's garage just in case big man is in there'. So he did (big man wasn't in there) and obviously (being a trouble maker) he didn't shut the garage door properly and now the old lady has come home (and totally over reacted in my opinion), reported it to the cops and here you are. Case solved.

But that could have lead anywhere.

So I shook my head and said

No, sorry, I haven't seen anyone.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

14 Responses to “a lost cat, an old lady and the police come knocking at my door”

  1. Emjay Says:

    LOL! That's funny!!!

  2. cat Says:

    he just blunders around and leaves me to sort things out. There was a cocoa pop incident at a motel once – but I still can't talk about it.

  3. M-----l Says:

    You better hope there aren't any Voxers on your local police force.

  4. SweetMisery Says:

    If nothing was missing I think she over reacted a tad. lol

  5. cat Says:

    well I guess I'd better not tell about the time I pushed a car over a cliff – just in case

  6. cat Says:

    she was old – in her 80's and I guess she scared easily. Poor old thing.

  7. SweetMisery Says:

    Tell me about it my dear Mom is seeing things. Yikes.

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    Tsk tsk. actually, I'm with the old lady. If you return and something's amiss and you're old and alone, then better to err on the side of caution and police officers knocking on the doors of neighbors who lie. Whoops, did I say that out loud?

  9. cat Says:

    I can't believe they sent a patrol car and two cops around to deal with it. And yes I was very annoyed with my husband. He's a suspicious character.
    Our other cat ended up going to live with the old lady anyway. I looked over one day and saw him sitting inside her door. He moved in for about 6 months until she went into a home, then he came back.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    You'll understand when you get old like that lady and me that a show of police force is reassuring. Or maybe they just wanted several of her homemade cookies.

  11. I she imagine that in the traditionof old ladies, that she will never go away again, as people break into her garage when she goes away!

  12. cat Says:

    she's gone gone now anyway. Went into a home. My father tells me that when you get old you lose your confidence – he tells me you creep around the walls. I have a deal with lizzie to put me out of my misery before that arrives.

  13. My Mum is anxious about everything! I intend drinking myself through it!

  14. cat Says:

    lol – me to, I'm starting now


Leave a Reply

