another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

light me up April 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:29 am
Tags: , ,

As I head into day three of a migraine I'm still searching for that 'whats the most enjoyable thing about being sick' thing,  and I still can't find it.

My father suffered with migraines until he had a massive stroke. He tells me he hasn't had one since. Seems a fairly harsh sawp though.

So I'm just cruisin' today, sorting out the laptop now it's back. With all the copying and transferring I've done between it, the external hard drive and the mother computer in the office, I've lost track of things.

But I found these. Not only did papa collect slides, he collected matches, badges and coasters. He had also collected all the ship menus from the cruise they were on and other 'stuff' but when mum rang my aunt about it she'd just thrown it all away. I almost cried. Of course she held on to it all for years and years and no one wanted it, so when she moved she tossed it all. I only found out this suitcase full of treasure existed when it was too late.

But I do have a few matches. And I must confess I do use them. Doesn't seem much point just having them. Unless of course someone wants to pay me a stack of money for them. It's very satisfying lighting up those old matches. They are big and have a huge head and they make a loud swoosh as they light.

So don't know if anyone still hangs out at these places. Think 50's or 60's as usual.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “light me up”

  1. Sorry to hear about the migraine, Cat. I get them too. Are yours hormonally related, do you know? If so, you might want to try taking something like Bioglan women's multivitamins. the chemist recommended them to me and I find they really help when I remember to take them regularly.
    Cool match boxes there. I'm sure you could make a fortunate on ebay with all that stuff you have.

  2. Emjay Says:

    These are great – Both Alioto's & Fisherman's Grotto are still San Francisco!! I have been to both!! We took the Economist & Idiot Boy to the Grotto for Thanksgiving Lunch when they were here! Sorry about your migraine – hope it doesn't lead to a stroke – you know I will never find out! 🙂

  3. cat Says:

    I don't think they are hormonal. I can't seem to pin down what causes them. I find strong coffee and chocolate gives a little temporary relief. Even though they are things usually considered migraine triggers. I read somewhere the caffiene causes the blood vessels to constrict so helps. I get this huge pulsating vein on my temple – you can see it there pumping away. I have some multi vitamins but always forget to take them. Must get into the habit.

  4. cat Says:

    The grotto looks like it would be good.
    I thought I was having a stroke last night actually. Because it's the right side of my head that's affected and last night I was sure that side of my face was numb. I think that was all the codeine catching up with me.

  5. Maybe try some bioglan for a month and see how you go. Not sure if all multivits as good. Chemist particularly recommended these ones as having lots of the right sort of stuff in them at not so bad a price. They do turn your wee fluoro though!

    The

  6. cat Says:

    I've got centrum – I'll compare whats in them.

  7. snoringKatZ Says:

    Believe it or not, I have been to No. 9 Fisherman's Grotto and had the most revolting meal I'd ever experienced till that point in my life. I don't think anyone liked their food. But the waiter was very very nice and attentive.Sorry about your sore brain. 😦 Maybe you've been using it too much? That's my excuse.

  8. snoringKatZ Says:

    And I've been to Joplin several times but I don't remember Bob Cummings' motel. Probably due to white line fever – it's all a blur!

  9. cat Says:

    Well you've put me off the grotto now. I think Bob Cummings did some sort of tv show. Think thats what someone told me.

  10. snoringKatZ Says:

    Yup – that is true about Bob Cummings. I just don't remember his motel. The parts of Joplin you get to see from the highway are not exactly scenic.

  11. SweetMisery Says:

    Cool match books. A lot of people collect these things. I would use them lol Sorry about your head. Have you had an MRI and all that fun stuff?

  12. cat Says:

    people collect all sorts of things don' they. No I haven't had any kind of head checks.

  13. SweetMisery Says:

    I know insurance and medical stuff is way too expensive, but better safe than sorry. Might be something they can do. (((((((Hugs))))))))

  14. StormyNite Says:

    Sorry to hear about your migraines, and I can't think of anything nice either about being unwell. If I've one I tend to take some paracetamol and try to sleep it off, but that's not going to help you if it's lasted a few days. Hope you get better soon.I don't think I'd use the old matches. You never know, they might be worth something, and you can use new matches if you have need to.

  15. cat Says:

    It was a vox QOTD a while back – whats the best thing about being sick. Seemed a strange question as I didn't think there was anything good about it. I think I've had so much paracetamol it's making my stomach upset!

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    These are classic. I'd like nothing more than to light my hand-rolleds with these.

  17. cat Says:

    they light beautifully

  18. Waterbaby Says:

    of course. of course they would. of course you'd have them in your freak house and thousands of miles away.

  19. cat Says:

    not that I'm an arsonist or anything. I'll send you some for christmas.

  20. Waterbaby Says:

    that'd be nice for both my hand-rolleds and pyromaniac proclivities.


Leave a Reply

