another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

days of miracle and wonder April 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:02 am
Tags: , , ,

The problem with having had three children within four years, is that once the eldest hits those years of teenage anger and angst between the age of 14 and 16, you don't get a break from it until the youngest passes that stage. Of course by then you can't be bothered with all that crap anyway.

When the first kid hits that stage it takes you by suprprise, because overnight they turn into this Jeckyll and Hyde type character and you're left battle weary and exhausted after a year or so. When the second kid hits it, you're more prepared, you know it's coming and you have strategies. By the time the third reaches that stage you're just like, get over it dear. And you know they'll come out the other side perfectly normal people. In fact Kimba and Lloyd laugh about their nasty years now and insist the other was much worse than they were.

Lizzie on the other hand is just hitting her straps. When they reach the age of 14 or 15 they become all defensive and angry and totally lose their sense of humour. The same thing you once said that would have them laughing, will now have them either glaring at you, eye rolling and slamming the bedroom door or talking to you like you are mentally retarded in some way.

She has this new thing of saying to me – Why are you looking at me? And I say – well I was talking to you (god knows why), so I was looking at you. I often feel like saying – Because you're so hideously ugly I can't stop looking at you. Sometimes she gets specific – Why are you looking at my legs?

Oh well, I'm almost at the end now and then I'll be able to go to AA and get my life back to normal.

I'm a bit lucky this time as Lizzie vents a lot of her anger at Kimba. So much so that Kimba told me she is NEVER coming home again. She came up to me this morning and asked me suspiciously why Lizzie was being so nice to her. It's mind games I said. Don't trust her.

Anyway I've made this for Kimba to hang in her room because I know Lizzie does love her and one day we'll laugh about how scared of her we all are.

Pity they're so ugly though.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “days of miracle and wonder”

  1. SweetMisery Says:

    Pretty eyes. Horrible years for all around. lol

  2. cat Says:

    Well I'm sure I was a lovely teenager

  3. annie Says:

    I used to teach 8th grade. One year I had a group of kids so surly that I turned their desks all around and made them face the black board at the back and I sat up front, behind them. Then they had no idea if I was looking at them or not, and man did their behavior improve. 17 is a good age though. They are capable of interacting again.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – I shall keep my eyes averted at all times.
    Yes, 17 is wonderful – they snap back again then and you can have a conversation

  5. snoringKatZ Says:

    EEEEEEEEK!!!Your daughters are beautiful. I have no daughters which is a good thing because I was a girl once and I don't think I could stand being around anyone even remotely like me. The boys have been almost painless. For some reason, they were completely unflappable no matter how much I tried to embarrass them. I'm on my last chance now with the young'un. Alas, he still likes me, too.Where have I gone wrong?!?!?

  6. cat Says:

    They are lovely. And they're quite sweet even though I bag them here all the time! I have one boy and even though he wasn't as dramatic as the girls he still had those couple of years when he didn't have much to say to us and spent a lot of time brooding in his room. Which was much more pleasant for me than the storming around door slamming female version.
    lol – maybe your older boys were the calm before the storm.

  7. Ninja Says:

    Man, I so know what you're talking about. If they ever have a referendum on bringing back national service for school leavers – for boys and girls – I'd be the first in line to vote "Yes"!!!

  8. You mean I just have to hang on til 17? My kid will stop being an alien by then? Here's to hope! 😉

  9. cat Says:

    It's like a butterfly comes out of the cocoon. They even sit down and converse with you, not fight with you.

  10. cat Says:

    Oh you'd be popular with your girls. Poor Ninja, man alone in a house full of female hormones. Although at least you don't have those weird teenage boy funky smelling ones.

  11. Red Pen Says:

    You're right. With the second child, at least you know what's coming. LOL @ "Why are you looking at me?" I've heard that, too. Hard to resist sarcasm when answering that one, eh?

  12. SweetMisery Says:

    Well of course you were. hum

  13. Emjay Says:

    Luckily no-one remembers my teenage years – including me! LOL.

  14. cat Says:

    oh yeah, all kinds of answers pop into my head but I know they'd only make her her angrier.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    They snap back at 17? Count yourself fortunate and blessed. I'm way older and still haven't snapped back. Only snapped at.

  16. cat Says:

    Well I don't have to put up with you so you can be as snappity as you please. Although now I know that a quick belly rub puts you in a happy mood we should be able to manage you ok.

  17. Oh, Hideous. Haha! Your girls are So beautiful!

  18. Waterbaby Says:

    I should've clarified, that was relevant to my parental units. my birth certificate claims another as my mother. so you're in the clear.


Leave a Reply

