another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

who let the dogs out March 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 4:20 am

Well we all want to save the whales. But who's going to save the dogs?

I don't have a problem with people wanting to eat dog meat. Although after observing the dirty habits of my own dog, I'll just say that there's no way I'm putting that thing in my mouth.

As far as I'm concerned eating dog is no different to eating pig. lamb, rabbit, chicken or beef. We just have some hangup about it because their our little pets.

What I have a problem with are the conditions they are kept in before they are slaughtered and the inhumane way they are slaughtered. But don't worry – I know the meat in my supermarket didn't grow in those black plastic packets covered with cling wrap. I know that a drive around pig farms and chicken farms and the abattoirs of Australia will reveal some horrific sights as well.

Thats why I don't eat meat. Because the way animals are confined and the way they are slaughtered makes me feel bad. It's my own little protest. So thats why I won't be trying dog. And the conditions they are kept in and killed in are extreme. Apparently they like the dogs to suffer because then the adrenaline rushes around the body and makes the meat taste better. Think skinned alive. Think bashed to death while hanging from your back legs. Think of being another dog watching this and knowing your turn is up next.

So I just thought I'd point this out. Just be aware that it's going on. I know there are countless great causes out there, all as worthy as the next. Just know that it's happening. If you're up to it, here's a bit of light reading.

market day

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “who let the dogs out”

  1. SweetMisery Says:

    Very disturbing indeed. Can't say anymore.

  2. cat Says:

    I wasn't even aware it was going on until recently

  3. SweetMisery Says:

    Unfortunately I saw a part of the film. Could not watch the whole thing. I was truly horrified.

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    i love dogs and animals. i won't even try clicking the link.

  5. cat Says:

    I wasn't going to but thought I may as well go all the way. No different than cattle trucks and yards really.

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    it's enough that I know in the peripheral that they exist. same thing happens when an animal cruelty story comes on the radio. I have to switch the channel, otherwise I feel such rage and pain, it's more than I can sanely cope with.

  7. cat Says:

    I know how you feel. I usually cry during the ad for the show about zoo doctors.

  8. Ninja Says:

    I cannot and will not eat dogs. I have been in places where its meat is served as a "delicacy", but I've always declined it. I have four pain-in-the-arse mutts at home… and they are all loved and spoilt to varying degrees. How could I eat them? They're family.

  9. At first I wanted to reply – oh no Australian abattoirs are well monitored, all nationalistic like, and then I stopped and thought, probably not. well no more so than anywhere else…it is sad, but I still eat meat. In my world carrots suffer pain too.Anyone who gardens know that plants respond to care, they have senses and feelings too. If I have to eat I have to eat across the board, not restricted to one species!

  10. cat Says:

    You have four dogs?? You must be insane.

  11. cat Says:

    Well I shall try to be caring towards my carrots but sheep and beef and definitely dogs can all look at you with those big sad eyes. I can't eat anything that can look at me like that.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    @Ninja – In other cultures, dogs are not family or pets, and iin some places they are undomesticated and run freely in packs, creating a public nuisance and a few health hazards as well. I'm sad to hear your emotional attachments deprived you of a cultural experience.

  13. cat Says:

    Don't think he missed much. The guy who tried it (in a book I'm reading) said the smell is appalling – think damp, dirty dog. Very strong flavour as well. He said mainly older and middle age men eat it because it is meant to make you virile – make the blood hot.

  14. Ninja Says:

    I must be. I'm the one who's cleaning up everyday… where are the kids who want to save the world, whales and rainforests… yet can't be found to clean up the yard and scoop the poop?? Funny that eh?

  15. Ninja Says:

    Nice one. I'll stick to my diet, thank you.

  16. cat Says:

    not glamorous enough

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    My guess is flavor would depend on the health and condition of the dog as well as how it's prepared. The Koreans use plenty of particular spices that would complement a heavy dog flavor.


Leave a Reply

