another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting March 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:10 am
Tags: , , ,

It was much much worse.

California Ambrosia. Sounds pleasant enough, but don't be fooled.

I received a deck of smoothie recipes years ago and never got around to trying them out. I mean its so much effort isn't it. Peeling and preparing all those ingredients for half a cup of drink. Then taking apart the blender to clean it. Similar to the juicer really. Do you know how many carrots it takes to make a cup of carrot juice? And do you realise how many parts there are in a juicer that need dismantling and cleaning. Which is why mine sits in the bottom of a dark cupboard. Somewhere.

However I decided I would go through the smoothie deck. Second off the pack was California Ambrosia. Mango nectar, lime juice, diced mango, mint and silken tofu. WTF? But I always like to try things before I turn my nose up at them. And all I can say was that it was what I would imagine drinking  half a glass of snot would be like. Well I could only manage a couple of mouthfuls. Thickish and pale yellowish. Tofu, was that really made for drinking?

Bring on the Banana Latte I say. Milk, espresso, banana, ice, cocoa.

Better yet. I wonder how far in deck these ones are.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting”

  1. GinBaby Says:

    That sounds like it would be delicious without the tofu. If you really felt the need for something creamy, I would hazard a guess that yogurt would be tastier than the silken tofu. I know some people who do the tofu smoothie thing, but it's usually for health rather than taste.

  2. Yeah, you had me until the tofu. NO BANANA! I like to eat fresh banana but can't stand the flour in drinks….

  3. cat Says:

    lol – definitely only for health I'd say. Yesterdays pineapple one was nice – it had frozen yoghurt in it. Something naughty about having frozen yoghurt for breakfast. As a non fruit eater I'm getting a good variety of the stuff.

  4. GinBaby Says:

    Actually, coconut milk instead of tofu for creaminess might be rockin. Although, I'm not sure the creaminess is necessary. This is unwarranted creaminess.

  5. cat Says:

    I don't mind the banana in a smoothie as long as it's not made with milk. Otherwise they do tend to get phlegm like. Has to be water based. Oh god imagine tofu and banana – probably choke to death.

  6. cat Says:

    I did use coconut milk – lite – in one a couple of days ago – maybe the pineapple one. Which means it had frozen yoghurt and coconut milk in it. hmm

  7. Reney Says:

    I usually like tofu but there is no way I would even attempt to add tofu to a drink. Ewww dude!

  8. Candy Sparks Says:

    i know how many parts are in a juicer… thats why i juice at least once a week… because its easier for my boyd o digest a juice than the fruits and veggies… and i just most of the time mix fruits and veggies like i think i'm going to have a celery apple, mango carrot juice… why cuz i think it sounds nice… if it tastes like crap i just take it as a shot…

    candy

  9. Everything but the tofu sounded good. And I'll definitely have to try a banana latte eventually…but the daquiri is on the menu for this evening!

  10. cat Says:

    My husband makes the best daquiris. Just the right consistencey. Banana latte was good but it means I've had two doses of strong coffee already this morning. Whooo.

  11. cat Says:

    Takes so much veg and fruit to fill a glass though. I do like beetroot juice. Although I did think I was dying from a nasty bowel disease the next day.

  12. cat Says:

    Something I won't attempt again either. Vile. Can't imagine I'd really enjoy eating it after having a poke and a sniff around the packet. Banana Latte was extra delicious.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    substitute the strawberries for, oh, say, blueberries and we have a deal.

  14. cat Says:

    ooh – never had a bluberry daquiri

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    Me neither. And it could be totally hideous. But I'll drink any berry before strawberry, except the poisonous ones.

  16. cat Says:

    well I was wondering about the skins of the bluberries. And if they merged well.

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    skin bits can't be any more annoying than grainy strawberries.

  18. cat Says:

    oh I know what you mean – I never blend straberries because you end up with all that sludge in the bottom of the glass that then ends up in your teeth.


Leave a Reply

