another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Give me a home March 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:12 am
Tags: , ,

That house we were wanting to buy. It's ours. Finally. I'd almost lost interest in the whole thing. When I decide I'm going to do something I do it. Right now. It's been 6 weeks since we made the offer.

So just when I thought we were out of debt, every time I log on to my internet banking site, I see a large number with a negative in front of it. But as soon as Lizzie finishes school the plan is to sell this place and move in there. And the amount we get for this should cover whats owing on that. Thats the plan anyway.

Kimba is moving into the new place with a friend on Friday and Lloyd will move in next year when he gets back from his overseas jaunt. So that way we get people we know to pay us rent and we get to go there for weekends and holidays. Everyone wins. And I get to yell at the tennants when they get too messy.

We stayed there on the weekend. This is where I sit to have breakfast.

This is also where I think Kimba's friends think they shall gather to drink copious amounts of alcohol and eat KFC – which is a short stroll down the road. Right near the bottle shop.

I guess this is where we play chess.

This is one of the chandeliers. I think I'm the only family member who can walk under it without scraping my head.

The ceilings are very high though. Much like this place we live in. These ones are 12 or 13 feet high. This place is 108 years old and the new place is 125 years old. We had a builder inspect it and he said it'll still be standing in another 125 as the wood is very hard. Built to last back then. The kitchen ceiling has this nice vine design on it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “Give me a home”

  1. Emjay Says:

    Congratulations! It really does look lovely. I am a bit jealous of your breakfast spot!

  2. cat Says:

    don't forget it has urban views. So I'm not sitting there gazing at a green valley. I do get to sticky beak at the shops and a main road though. Thats one of the things we liked about it. Traffic at night will take some getting used to.

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    Just beautiful! Oh, how I miss my 1920-something house… Thanks for the tour – it will be wonderful (as long as those renters don't trash it…heehee!)

  4. cat Says:

    they'll be out quick smart

  5. Candy Sparks Says:

    its quite lovely… i want to live there too!!!

    candy

  6. cat Says:

    plenty of room candy, c'mon over. Bring your swimmers, it's not far from the beach

  7. NOOS Says:

    Your house is lovely! I like your Chandelier. 🙂

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    Not far from the beach?! now I'm sold, I'm headin' over with my backpack. Whoa, hold on, traffic noise? Never mind.

  9. Wow! That is a fantastic Home!!! I LOVE it! The ceilings are Gorgeous!!!

  10. cat Says:

    thanks noos – it has all been painted and done up very nicely.

  11. cat Says:

    we looked at a few places and the new houses were just – bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, yeah yeah – but this place just had a nice feel to it.

  12. Aubrey Says:

    Beautiful plaster-work! Very deluxe!
    Yes, the old places are tough old warriors. It took a 6.7 magnitude earthquake (Northridge, CA – 1994) to knock the stuffing out of my poor old 90 year-old.
    You are to be envied.

  13. The new houses don't have any stories soaked into the walls yet. Old houses have a certain life and glow. 🙂

  14. cat Says:

    and this one might $10,000 worth of jewellery hidden in it's walls somewhere. Apparently the guy who owned it hid some jewellery and then he had a stroke soon after and can't remember where he put it. He's looked everywhere but has asked us to keep an eye out.

  15. cat Says:

    It has a really nice feeling to it. Felt right. Walking through the newer houses felt like we were walking through display homes.

  16. stevie Says:

    Wow! It looks awesome! Post photos of the inside! I love the green and brown deck, beautiful.

  17. cat Says:

    I couldn't get any decent photos of inside as it was too dark. But I will next time I'm there. I love the deck. Love love it. And no grass to mow.

  18. Paxton Says:

    Looks neat! Good luck!

  19. Wow! The house even has a legend and a treasure! Awesome! You need a metal detector. I have always wanted one of those. 😉


Leave a Reply

