another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

a tangled web we weave March 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:20 am
Tags: , ,

Never sure which spiders I like the least. The hard black shiny ones, or the soft hairy brown ones. The black ones always look more dangerous, poisonous (maybe thats just because we have red backs here). Yet the hairy ones always seem more creepy.  We have a lot of webs outside the house at the moment. When you walk out at night you have to swing your arms in front of you to avoid a web being wrapped over your face. I've never managed to convince my kids that the best way to fix that situation is just to reverse out of it and it comes off nicely. They prefer to do the scream and thrash about solution that only traps you. See thats the whole point of a web kiddies – to trap things that are moving about.

This spider I found out the front fits in the prickly spider category. He's an ambitious builder who is taking up a lot of room.

Here he's either clinging on or doing some repairs – he's always up to something. You can see his little leg with the web on it.

Here is his funny little body that I almost want to touch to see how it feels. Almost. I think he was running off to hide from me.

And here I was trying to get a look at his Bum Spinner. Thats what I call it anyway but the text books probably don't. Lol maybe it's just his Bum Hole.

And here is a leaf that has been built into a web. And all the little crusty bits of dust that have stuck to it. This web grows bigger everyday but I'm yet to see the spider that lives there.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “a tangled web we weave”

  1. SweetMisery Says:

    Great photos. The furry ones bother me the most. I don't have any at the moment, but I took a lot of pictures last year of my friendly porch guys. It looks so green there. Jealous.

  2. cat Says:

    we've had the wettest summer ever on record – coldest as well. Thats why it's green. lol, thats the only plant in my front yard.

  3. M-----l Says:

    I've never been particularly frightened of spiders, but I actually shivered a bit when I first saw that third photo.

  4. Emjay Says:

    This just looks a plain nasty spider!!!!

  5. cat Says:

    Wouldn't you like to give him a little rub though to see if that is soft or prickly stubble?

  6. cat Says:

    I didn't want to get too close as his web is so convoluted I had visions of breaking a bit and causing it to spring back and flick him onto myself.

  7. Patricia Says:

    Ewww…these are great pic's of this creepy creature! Spiders are by far my worst fear. *shudder*

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    OK, I don't have anything against spiders per se, no real phobias or over-the-top squeamish reactions. That is, till I saw that big ol' honkin' thing in your pic! Jeez, what's he weight, like 50 pounds?!?!? At least if he crawls into your bed, you know he's there. (Not really reassuring, I know …)

  9. cat Says:

    I think snakes are more scary – for me anyway. I can poke around a spider and not be too worried but a slithering snake makes me shudder. Mind you I wouldn't want to find either in my sleeping bag.

  10. cat Says:

    lol – I'm growing quite fond of him (her). Just then Kimba and her friend were trying to uncork a bottle of champagne out the front and I gave them strict instructions 'not to hit my spider'. It's all those prickles and bumps – very ugly little dude.
    p.s. champagne was being too kind – but they were desparate and it was something cheap and I'm sure nasty that was out in the back fridge.

  11. Patricia Says:

    Ooo…see, now snakes I love!! They're so smooth and cold. Spiders have creepy long legs. If you want to hear me shriek like a little girl, show me a live spider. Ack!

  12. WOW!!! It is HUGE!!!! Neat! I really love the leaf in the web, that is Gorgeous!

  13. cat Says:

    They must have to rebuild the webs a lot because the leaves weren't in it today.

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    with that ringing endorsement, how can I pass? pour me a glass … 10 feet from the 50-pound spider, if you please.

  15. cat Says:

    gather you won't be wanting ice with that then??

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    only if i'm anemic.


Leave a Reply

