another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

off to never never land March 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:46 am
Tags: , , ,

When I was small I'd always check in the wardrobe before bedtime to make sure the bogeyman wasn't in there. Then I'd leap onto the bed from as far away as possible so the monster under the bed couldn't grab my ankles and drag me under. Once I was safely in bed I'd lie there looking out the double glass doors I had that opened onto the yard. There were no street lights so by moonlight I'd watch shadows and silhouettes of trees moving around, imagining all kinds of beasties out there. When I finally went to sleep, for years I had a recurring nightmare. In it the pigs we owned turned feral, grew enormous tusks and killed the family. Picked us off one by one. Little me last of course.  So night time was a scary time for me. Still has its moments.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “off to never never land”

  1. Raymond Says:

    I'm glad you can vent. And I sure hope you have a nice day, and a peaceful night's rest! Just because you can't see 'em, doesn't mean they can't see you!

  2. Patricia Says:

    As a kid I as always hoping that one of "them" would take me with them! lol.
    But those pigs…yikes…sounds scary!

  3. cat Says:

    definietly do not want to go with the pigs!

  4. Raymond Says:

    Yeah. Me too. Except when I smoke a bit of pot. Which, sorry for all the other opinions, is a really really really really really good way to fall asleep. After you've eaten all the Oreo cookies in the house and sometime before sitting on the couch with the box of Captain Crunch. But there are scary things out there. Did you know there are others out there who would not even hesitate to shoot a poor homeless little man for having the terminity to smoke a bit of something in order to put the universe into proper perspective? Trust me, they are out there…and they got guns…and they got laws….and they got Starbucks! I'm thankful I was given a little something…..

  5. Candy Sparks Says:

    oh i hated the boogyman… i thought i was touching my feet all the time… and if my closet was open i would see ghosts come out and it would freak me out… so i thought of fairies and dreamt of the shoe that i would be my space ship mall… and i traveled the stars in style…

    candy

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    OK, that poster is creepy. {introducing moment of levity} Do you think she wears blue contacts? What a strange dream. No more of them now that you're an adult?

  7. cat Says:

    oh I cheated with the eyes. I still have awful dreams that wake me up with my heart pounding. I don't sleep much. My husband says he can wake up and have a conversation with me at any time of the night.

  8. I used to have a dream where we were all barricaded in our house and we were being attacked, Perhaps too many westerns as a child!

  9. cat Says:

    I remember sitting up on my own one night and watching a movie called The Night of The Grizzly. This mad bear was going around killing people. I wonder what my parents were thinking letting me watch it! Were you the cowboys or the indians I wonder?

  10. I think we were the cowboys! It makes me feel racist to say that now!

  11. cat Says:

    lol – I was always on the Indians side and I'm sure you can't call them that anymore! I spent many saturday afternoons watching a good western and can still sing the song of Wyatt Earp. F Troop was a favourite as well.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    ohhhh, youve been found out, missy!


Leave a Reply

