another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

must move my arse February 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:55 am
Tags: , ,

I've been sitting in this chair for, well too long today. And it seems someone has broken the chair so I can't adjust the height anymore. And because I'm so short that means I'm sitting on a cushion and a pillow. But I've been trying a few techniques on this photo.

We have a tiny bottlebrush bush out the front that produces masses of 'bottles' about twice a year. This is the photo untouched. Still pretty. They start as the buds, blossom and turn bright pink then fade to almost white.

This effect is called the Orton effect. I'm guessing he was a photographer – he merged two images together to get a faded look – but he did it in the development stage.

This was meant to be a conversion to powder pastels but I didn't like it so changed a couple of things and you get quite a different look. Actually I like this more and more. Would be a nice paper or background. Maybe it's just because I like purple.

This one is called The Hayes Island Cafe  effect. I have no idea what that means.

And this one is a comic/cartoon type effect. Probably works better on other types of photo. Although I do like that now I see it again. Pretty.

Must go eat and put some eyedrops in. Feel as if I haven't blinked for hours. And I didn't get any bloody sleep. One of the smoke alarms had a flat battery last night and it makes this high pitched scream to let you know, but only about every 40 minutes. So you either lie awake until the next time to pick which alarm it is, or go to sleep and wait to be woken again by it. And then taking them down requires a trip out the back to find the ladder. The girls tell me it's in their room but they slept through it.

I really like that last bottlebrush photo now.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

6 Responses to “must move my arse”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    I know exactly that smoke-alarm pitch. Piercing, painful, hard to ignore. It sent me to the garage outside to haul a very large and heavy ladder awkwardly through the yard and up two flights of stairs on my own secretly in the dead of night at 3.30 a.m. so as not to wake anyone (I was up). Then haul it all the way back down, by which time I just wanted to heave it with all my might against a garage wall. Point of the tale: Those battery-operated smoke alarms are a pain in the butt.

  2. Emjay Says:

    I like the hayes island effect followed by the cartoon one. Very nice.Our fire alarm is hooked into the power system – if I open the oven just the heat waves seem to set it off. We cook with the back door open, the ceiling fan in the sunroom spinning, the exhaust hood fan going AND the toilet exhaust fan (cause the toilet is just off the kitchen). It is the only way to prevent the fire alarm going off. Visitors get a laugh!

  3. cat Says:

    lol – yes indeed

  4. cat Says:

    yes, the hayes island one has a bit of a painted look to it. I have some very long and confusing looking instructions for a pop art look I might try tonight. I wish I had photoshop not just elements.

  5. Candy Sparks Says:

    i like the Hayes Island Cafe effect… its quite nice… and bright… and today is so drab…

    candy

  6. cat Says:

    drab here as well. Australia has totally missed out on summer this year.


Leave a Reply

