another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

More about life, hair and women February 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:40 am
Tags: , ,

Why is it that when you go to the hairdresser, you rarely walk out with your hair the way you wanted it?

If you take in a picture of a style or colour they look at it and say 'yes, yes' then they confer with another hairdresser who also says 'yes, yes'. But at the end it never looks like the picture. But they act like it does. I wonder if behind the pleased looking face they're really thinking 'shit, that doesn't look like the photo'.

Last time I went, I took a picture of a girl with dark hair – like mine – but with nice red/gold highlights. 'Oh yes, that'll be nice'. But as she was putting the bleach foils in I said 'well won't that just, you know, bleach it'. 'Oh, we'll take it off before it's been on too long'.

Well of course I ended up with dark hair with quite light bleached foils in it. Kimba told me I looked like a crazy racoon. Which wasn't really the look I was going for.

I've fought with a lot of hairdressers over the years but I've had it. I'm just going to do it at home. Buy a box from Big W and do it myself. Well maybe 2 boxes – I have a lot of hair.

Not only will I save myself money but save myself from the whole hairdresser trip experience. I get so bored in there I almost go insane and I have to listen to the most ridiculous talk I'm ever likely to hear. Do you know that if a baby isn't breathing, the best thing to do is stick it's head out a car window. Apparently that "gets the wind into it". I'm not kidding. Thats what one woman told everyone. I almost laughed.

I'll also save myself from the washing/massage part. There is one girl there with titanium fingers. I thought she might actually break through my skull and make contact with my brain. I must admit I did say the pressure was ok. But after a few minutes it was awful and I got the giggles. Then before I could say 'DON"T PUT YOUR FINGERS IN MY EARS' she had wrapped ther fingers in the towel and twisted them enthusiastically around my earholes. I always feel like a five year old. And it makes me laugh as well. Maybe they think I'm mentally retarded. Because I always laugh when I leave as well because the owner has my name. So when I leave I yell out Bye Cat and she yelss back, Bye Cat. And I feel like we're The Two Ronnies and I always feel like saying 'so it's goodnight from me…… and it's goodnight from him'

So I think as long as I'm dark it's home done for me from now on. So, anyone know any good brands??

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “More about life, hair and women”

  1. Lizzie Says:

    That is exactly why I don't go to the hairdressers and why I haven't had a decent cut ever. I mean, I hack my own hair whenever it gets really ratty.
    I've blogged about my experiences before and it's far too distressing to think of how I've left salons looking like some kid from the local special school.
    To tell the truth, the best haircut I ever had, I cut the front and as far round the sides as I could and then as I'd been using blunt scissors I got my best friend to use a pair of hedge cutty things (you know, the long handled ones?) to finish off the back for me. Perfecto.

  2. snoringKatZ Says:

    Oh, Cat – I know what you mean which is why I haven't paid anyone to do anything to my hair for at least 15 years. Of course in a few weeks it will be a moot point :)I have found Garnier Nutrisse did a good job this last time but was pretty harsh on my hair. It is pretty coarse feeling now and that doesn't usually happen. Before that, I've used Revlon ColorSilk which is incredibly cheap. My hair wasn't so abused by their concoction.L'Oreal Preference color wasn't quite so great to me but their conditioner is FANTASTIC! It's the one hair color that I've used and had my hair end up better after coloring than it started.It sounds like I've been a hair color junkie, right? Not really. I have colored (not counting the Great Chameleon Disaster of May '06) not much more often than every six or eight or 18 months. That way I can always use the line, "No, I dye my roots black…"The Two Ronnies – I loved that show!!!

  3. Emjay Says:

    LOL!! I agree with the cutting …… last time I went I found a photo in their photo hair cutting guide book – and I still didn't get it!!I got the Princess to put colour in mine when she was here – mmm! Just the roots I said …. well, I think we have different meanings of the word "roots".

  4. cat Says:

    lol. I shall go the the garage immediately and find the hedge cutty things. I'm sure my girls would be more than willing to have a go.

  5. cat Says:

    yes I guess you'll just be using sunscreen soon. I always think it'd be much easier if everyone was bald, You do sound a bit of a colour junkie, can't afford to use anything that drys hair out as mine has the tesxture of steel wool as it is.
    Grew up on the ronnies.

  6. cat Says:

    I wouldn't be game to do home done blonde job. I have a tendency to go yellow.

  7. Lizzie Says:

    Yay for hedge cutty things!
    I admit it, I just Googled to see what they were. Duh at me – hedge shears or hedge trimmers. I prefer hedge cutty things though 😉

  8. Hahaha!! I know! Why not say, I don't think I can do that, I CAN do this though! Oh, this post made me laughing so loud here!

  9. Emjay Says:

    Yeah – that's a bit what it looked like – on SOME of the roots! My hairdresser was gracious enough not to mention it when I went in!

  10. cat Says:

    well shears sounds a bit drastic!

  11. cat Says:

    oh good, so it's a world wide problem then.

  12. cat Says:

    and thats the other thing. Can I show my face at the hairdressers for a trim after I've done the home jobby. Thats if I don't take up the hedge shears option.

  13. Lizzie Says:

    Go for the shears 😉
    My whole family seem to think I'm their own personal hair whacker. One way I've found of giving an excellent layered grungy look is to make a pony tail but at the top of your head between the crown and the hairline. To make it shoulder length, you chop it off about 3 inches from the ponytail band and then snip roughly into the end. That's the fun bit – lots of hacking and chopping involved and the rougher the better. Maybe you could do some mother-daughter bonding with Lizzie 😉

  14. cat Says:

    maybe – I'll try it on her first. I do like the grungy look. They always seem to want to make me all smooth and mummyish.

  15. Lizzie Says:

    Hannah wants her hair cut again – she's been badgering me for days about it but 'wefuses' (one of her words) to tell me what she wants… yet. If it's the grunge thang, I'll take pics.

  16. SweetMisery Says:

    Oh you have said it all. I hate going to the hairdresser always have. I wore my hair long and straight for years. Now I have a simple bob type due that they do seem to understand. lol. also not into coloring. Yikes.

  17. snoringKatZ Says:

    Sunscreen and a hat will be my best friends 🙂 Although I'm kind of thinking it would be fun to use that color-changing sunscreen. My head could be blue one day, purple another. That would be fun!I think the first time I colored my hair was when I was 30. The packages say to do it every 6 weeks. Frankly, I can't remember to do anything every six weeks. I think I went a year or so before I did it again. It's been a lot more constant since CheetoHead happened. I think I've colored more times in the past two years than I have in the previous 20.

  18. cat Says:

    my best friend has a bob – that would be funny if we both had one. lol.

  19. cat Says:

    jesus – I think I would have cried. That must have been quite a moment when you rinsed it and found that startling orange. lol. Looks as if the only thing that would get rid of it would be a razor.

  20. SweetMisery Says:

    twins how cute. It is as easy style to deal with.

  21. Ninja Says:

    I've always said a good hairdresser is like a good mechanic. Find one and hang onto 'em! I've had struggles, too. But the older I get, the more I can see the wisdom in the "bugger it and just cut the bastard short and neat" way of thinking. Saves a lot of grief and mulla, too.


Leave a Reply

