another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

A trip to the big smoke January 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:40 am
Tags: , ,

The trouble with living in a country town is that you have to travel an hour or more to access medical services or go shopping. So early morning found me up and on my way to the the dental surgeon with Lizzie who has to have two bottom wisdom teeth and two top teeth removed. This is in preparation for her having braces installed. Or fitted. Then it was a drop by the hospital to book her in for two weeks time. But it's only going to cost me a small fortune and I managed to keep a happy face the whole time they told me the cost. Because they seemed to think it was so reasonable. But it's all part of the deal isn't it. I mean you can't decide to have kids then blame them for sending you broke. And making you prematurely grey. And making you fat. Even though they do in fact do those things. Fact is, you asked for it.

So then it was on to a bit of shopping. My nephew is getting married and there are some strict dress rules so I needed a cocktail dress. I found a dress I love and it was reduced from $ 240.00 to $ 119.00. Can't argue with that. Although I'd like to point out that I'd never usually consider paying $ 119.00 for a dress. But it is gorgeous and not so dressy that I won't ever be able to wear it again. I'd be happy to wear it to the corner pub.

Next it was time to get my husband an outfit and he has to wear a tie – which he has never done. The first shirt and tie he tried on looked ridiculous. He looked as if he was going to a dress up party as Angus Young from ACDC. But he did get a really cool outfit which he's already had on tonight wearing around the house. So great success for all (if you consider going to hospital and having four teeth pulled out great luck).

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “A trip to the big smoke”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    yey!! and ouch! … to the pennies spent, not teeth pulled. (on second thought, ouch! to that too.)

  2. Emjay Says:

    I had a good giggle at my imaginary picture of DH in that shirt and tie!! You haven't included the cost of a gift in there ……….

  3. cat Says:

    and thats only the first phase – the braces themselves are the cost of a small car!

  4. cat Says:

    It was a strange sight – looking into the gift today

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    Ohhhh, I know. I wore braces for like two years. And have thousands upon thousands of dollars invested in a lifetime of dental work. More than I ever hope to have saved in bank account!


Leave a Reply

