another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Tan safely – I don’t think so January 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

Don't you wish celebrities would just keep their mouths shut? I see Elle McPherson on the front page of the newspaper saying that she "tans safely". Oh why did models become super and how did they gain so much power anyway. Here in Australia we have the highest rate of melanoma in the world. Each year over 8000 people are diagnosed with it and over 1000 of them will die.  It is the most common form of cancer in the 15 to 24 age group. At the moment there is a strong TV campaign on called The dark Side of Tanning. It's fairly graphic as they have discovered that teenagers need graphic images to get the message across. They make it quite clear – there is no such thing as safe tanning. Then you get Elle, who over the years has tanned herself to a nice piece of leather saying she tans safely. If they want someone to promote sun safety why don't they use Nicole Kidman or Cate Blanchett – who have hardly ever seen a ray of sunlight and look gorgeous. They blow away the myth that aussie girls need to be sunkissed and bronzed to look good.

My daughters are on totally different ends of the spectrum. Thought wise and colour wise. Kimba is almost shocking in her paleness and has always been proud of it. Lizzie feels that brown is best and I think she'd spend a lot of time sunbaking if she didn't find it so hot and boring. I hear myself telling her almost every day – no such thing as safe tanning but try talking to a 15 year old girl. Man, how'd they get so smart. I tell you they know everything!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “Tan safely – I don’t think so”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    Tanning would be quite the issue and danger in Australia, I could see that. And some youths, they're just oriented toward sunning and no matter what you say, it's gonna fall on deaf ears. I spent a good portion of my childhood within driving proximity of beaches and thus saw a lot of what you see in Australia. I never felt any inkling whatsoever to bake myself beneath the sun. I'm sure my skin thanks me now.

  2. Paxton Says:

    Well, you're right. There is no such thing as safe tanning. It's like safe smoking. You can reduce the danger, but you can't eliminate it. Dark skin and pale skin are just two different types, both of which can be beautiful.

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    Cat, you can always ask Lizzie if she'd like one of these – it absolutely enhances one's attractiveness in swimwear. But not really. My last bit of unscarred territory is no more.

  4. cat Says:

    OUCH – is that you? That looks bloody sore. Damn teenagers – have that won't happen to me attitude no matter what they see. Ouch again.

  5. cat Says:

    I did. I was terrible but "back then" there was no mention of sun cancer. As soon as they said – hang on we think this is bad for you I stopped but I'm expecting to start paying for it soon.

  6. cat Says:

    But you can eliminate it by slip, slap, slopping. Don't know if you have that campaign – slip on a sunshirt, slap on a hat and slop on the sunscreen. You can just not go and lie in the sun.

  7. snoringKatZ Says:

    Yes, that's me – around August 20, I think.

  8. cat Says:

    and was it a sun cancer?

  9. snoringKatZ Says:

    Just to add to the TMI, the actual lesion was about the size of a nickel (maybe). All that real estate gone for a nickel. It looks less awful now but not by a whole lot – mostly because all the betadine washed off and the bruising is gone.

  10. cat Says:

    incredible – it must spread fairly quickly so they have to take a big slice. Well I bet you and your kids don't sunbake.

  11. snoringKatZ Says:

    It was stage 2 melanoma (although I understand the staging methods vary) – one little blotch in a place that hadn't seen daylight since 1984, I think. I never was much of a sunbather anyhow but I spent most of my childhood barbecued beyond recognition every summer. I hope your daughter thinks about what she's doing at some point. It can be very … disconcerting.

  12. Paxton Says:

    lol I'm glad you explained it, 'cause we don't have that PSA.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    interesting. i didn't require an outside source to tell me what i already knew. mostly i just didn't care enough about appearances to sit in the sun, wear makeup or do any of those other things that are done to enhance one's self. i'm just a freak, i guess.

  14. cat Says:

    I wasn't doing it for appeaances it's just the way it was. I grew up on a farm in central NSW where it's very hot and dry. We were expected to work out in the sun and we never thought of sunscreen. It wasn't talked about then. I wasn't sitting in the sun, I was just living in it.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    ah, hope you had a good straw hat … or a hundred. 🙂

  16. Paxton Says:

    actually I think it's slip slop slap – you should promote it
    I'll go to the beach this summer, walk up to girls who are sun tanning, and say, "Excuse me, Miss, but you look like you should really slip slop slap."
    Take any bets on whether I get arrested or beat up first?

  17. suemack Says:

    We have the 'slip, slop, slap' campaign here too, and the kids have to wear hats at many of the schools in summer. But, as they leave the gates the hats come off. I'm very fair skinned, spent much of my teenage summers pulling layers of dead skin off as I peeled (we thought it was fun, used to sit round peeling each other). Never got a tan, just more freckles. I've had several sun spots on my nose lasered, use factor 15+ everyday, and just have to keep a watch for problem areas. Over here a tan in summer is still very much the 'in thing' despite the graphic ad campaigns and safety messages.

  18. cat Says:

    oh yes, memories of peeling. I remember sitting on the school bus on the lovely vinyl seats and sticking to them, then leaving some old skin behind when you stood up.
    They showed people here on the news tonight on the beach, just cooking – saying that generation Y have no sun sense.


Leave a Reply

