another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the man who wasn’t there January 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 4:28 am
Tags: ,

My father used to tell me stories. The Owl and the Pussycat was a favourite. He'd sing me little songs like Teddy Bears Picnic and A Bicycle Built for Two. But he also used to scare me with this one – The Man Who Wasn't There. It's always stuck in my mind.

Thats me. Happy little sprite wasn't I. Those bags under my eyes are because I never used to sleep. Still don't. Mum took me to the doctor when I was about 8 and he told her it was because I was having psychadelic dreams. Since I don't remember discussing it with him and I don't remember having them, I'm not sure how he made the diagnosis. But hey, it was the early 70's.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “the man who wasn’t there”

  1. Paxton Says:

    Maybe the doctor was the one having psychedelic dreams…
    Anyway, very creepy couplet. Makes me want to find the book to read the whole thing.

  2. Waterbaby Says:

    what a strange thing for a doctor to say. unless he was a shaman.

  3. cat Says:

    is there more? I always thought that was it.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – we lived in a very small town – about 2000 people, so maybe he was like the local shaman. Makes me laugh though to picture him dancing around a fire as I can remember him very vividly.

  5. Paxton Says:

    is there more? I always thought that was it.
    After posting my comment, I did a Google search. That's the whole poem. It's by a poet by the name of Hughes Mearns (don't ask me how to pronounce it). It puts me in thought of the movie A Beautiful Mind.

  6. cat Says:

    maybe my father was a fan

  7. So Beautiful, I like it! As for the diagnosis, It made me laugh, sorry. : )

  8. cat Says:

    lol – well like I said, it was the 70's so who knows

  9. Candy Sparks Says:

    i love the song teddy bears pic nic!!!

    candy

  10. cat Says:

    same – I used to get so excited at the thought of them all in the woods having fun


Leave a Reply

