another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Censorship Sucks December 30, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:10 pm
Tags: ,

I'm not a fan of censorship. I don't like the idea that someone I don't even know, who's never met me, can decide what I should or shouldn't listen to. I was watching one of the music channels and there was a Nickelback song on that was so censored you could hardly tell what it was about. And it's stupid really – all the kids know what the words are. And I can't see anything in it thats going to corrupt the poor little kiddies brains. And kids aren't stupid – they know it's just a joke. This is a sample. (Just like to point out that I'm not a Nickelback fan).

'Cause we all just wanna be big rockstars and
Live in hilltop houses driving fifteen cars
The girls come easy and the drugs come cheap
We'll all stay skinny 'cause we just won't eat
And we'll hang out in the coolest bars
In the VIP with the movie stars
Every good gold digger's
Gonna wind up there
Every Playboy bunny
With her bleach blonde hair
And we'll hide out in the private rooms
With the latest dictionary of
Today's who's who
They'll get you anything
with that evil smile
Everybody's got a
Drug dealer on speed dial, well
Hey, hey, I wanna be a rockstar

I'm gonna sing those songs
That offend the censors
Gonna pop my pills
From a Pez dispenser
Get washed-up singers writing all my songs
Lip synch 'em every night so I don't get 'em wrong

This is the reason I only listen to Triple J. An australian radio station, you get no censorship, no commercials, no high rotation of pop. Just lots of music. New music, alternative music and australian music. Check them out. You can listen to it live.

JJJ

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “Censorship Sucks”

  1. snoringKatZ Says:

    I'm gonna sing those songs That offend the censorsSee? That's why – the censors don't like anyone to know they exist and here these crazy Nickelbak kids are putting it out there out loud in a song!EGADS! You can out CIA agents but do not discuss the censors!

  2. Emjay Says:

    This is why we have XM – satellite radio. Of course, we are listening to the clean stations while Princess SJ is here – ha ha ha….

  3. Paxton Says:

    What I love about it is that which words get censored depends on where you hear them. I can't think of an example right now, but I've noticed that some songs that mention both sex and violence get the naughty words bleeped out on the radio, but on MTV they get the references to firearms bleeped out. It all depends on who's offended, I guess.

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    Well, yeah, I can see that certain channels would clean up for the kiddies. It happens with movies on TV too. If you've ever seen, say, Good Fellas or Reservoir Dogs, you know what I'm talkin' about. Somehow "I'm gonna bust your chops" or "your friggin' mama" sound just so … lame!

  5. Ninja Says:

    I've gone off radio stations, except current affairs on my AM dial. For my music, I keep a long list of downloads on my PC and play them when I feel like it. It's always good for me then.

  6. cat Says:

    I bet the censors weren't allowed to watch anything good when they were kids – now they're all bitter and twisted.

  7. cat Says:

    oh yeah – because her ears are totally unsullied

  8. cat Says:

    well there were so many beeps in this clip you couldn't tell what was going on.

  9. cat Says:

    oh yeah thats funny when that happens – or when they beep out the word but you can still lip read. Or they start the beep to late.

  10. cat Says:

    after seeing some of your music selections ninja, well, actually no I won't slag your music choices.


Leave a Reply

