another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

turn off the bloody light September 21, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:45 am
Tags: , , ,

It seems that our family consumes such enormous amounts of electricity that energy australia has decided it must help us take control. And I know we do waste a lot of power. I know this because our bill is always over $600. Thats every quarter. I also know this because if I am sitting on the lounge one more time and look up the hallway and see the front light on I may go insane. So because we are in the special group of people who spend over $2000 a year on electricity they are going to come and install a smart meter. Yay. Sort of. I've been interested in these for a couple of years now. It will be good because I can watch that meter spinning and know when we are using too much. But it will be bad as well because we will be paying more in peak hours. Which of course are between 2pm and 8pm. So in those hours we pay 25cents per (whatever they are – kilowatts???)  Other times you pay 8cents or less. So this summer will be interesting. For one thing, we'll be hot because I won't be running the airconditioner. And I think we'll be eating by the campfire because at about 6.30pm there's usually an oven, a hotplate, sometimes a deepfryer going. Have to watch when we run the dishwasher and washing machine. Shall be interesting to see if it helps.

I'd just like to say that I'm watching a show on SBS called Millionare Dogs. Now I like my dog (kinda) but these people need a reality check. It's about all the dogs in New York and restaurants and day care centres bla bla for dogs. OMG – do you know you can go on holidays and leave your dog at this place and you can send the dog mail and this woman reads it to them.

I would also like to thank SBS for calling Qian Xun Xue her name of Qian Xun Xue, because it's really pissing me off how everyone calls her "little pumpkin".

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “turn off the bloody light”

  1. Snowy Says:

    As an old electricity worker I can tell you that $600 is much higher than average. Look for heating appliances as being the main culprits. For instance, do you have water leaking out of your Hot Water System? Do you use an electric clothes drier a lot? Do you have an electric room heater that you leave on all day during winter? That'll do for starters.

  2. cat Says:

    I never use the clothes drier – only in emergencies and the only problem with the hot water would be people spending too long in the shower – I'm always banging on walls yelling at them to hurry up. That comes from growing up on a farm where we never had water to waste. We have reverse cycle aircon and I heat up the house in the morning hten turn it off for the day. I guess it all adds up – all the lights, tv's, computers etc etc

  3. Snowy Says:

    Oh yeah, teenagers in showers will push the bill up. A friend of mine used to turn the hot water off if he thought they were in too long. Worked like magic.

  4. cat Says:

    I think you can actually get a timer so after a certain time the water stops – ohh wouldn't that piss them off!!

  5. Paxton Says:

    Oh, that's right, Summer is still on the way for you blokes down under. I pay way too much for electricity, too, and I know the culprit is a combination of the shape of our house and the air conditioning unit.


Leave a Reply

